top of page

Horsty, Owlie & Owlino Book Review

To all amigurumi lovers out there – I am excited to present to you two adorable crochet children‘s books by addi in collaboration with the creative author Katrin Pabst, also called „The Owl Popess“.

„Horsty, the little eagle kid“ and „Owlie & Owlino“ tell about the friendship between eagles and owls, but not only that.

These stunning illustrated story books with crochet instructions and a 2.5 mm addiSwing hook are available in German and English – first you read about the printed main characters and then you can bring them to life, how amazing is that!?

When addi asked me if I wanted to review these two books on my blog, I happily accepted!

Addi sent me two copies and the addiSwing crochet hook. And now, I am super happy to show you all my crochet results here.

Did you already try the addiSwing crochet hooks?

These hooks are designed and manufactured in Germany and available in all sizes and almost all over the world! They have an ergonomic handle that fits right into the curve of the hand.

For me, this hook is the most comfortable hook I’ve used. It allows me to crochet for longer and pain free periods and I love how it fits in my hand. Stop by to try them!

I love the book illustrations by Charlet Gehrmann, her drawings are full of detail and are brilliant for exploring with the kids as you read the stories.

The books are small and light enough to be carried anywhere and at the end of each story, you will find crochet instructions, clear and easy to read.

So, before you get started on any of the amigurumis to crochet I highly suggest you to check out the written patterns first.

The instructions show you everything you need, which yarn to use and so much more needed to crochet the illustrated creatures into amigurumis.

I used my own yarns in my stash as I had plenty left over from other projects in the past.

It was such a great fun crocheting Horsty, Owlie and Owlino as all parts were quick to work up.

I love the look of the tight stitches using the addiSwing hook.

To mark the last stitch of a round, I also like using stitch markers to hold the last loop when I need to take a break. For this project addi sent to me two lovely addiLove stitch markers. I can't get over how adorable they are - indispensable for all crochet projects!

With all the individual body parts completed, it was time to assemble my little friends.

I decided to use safety eyes instead of buttons as they offer a very quick way to finish my amigurumis.


After all the crocheting and attaching, here are my finished Horsty, Owlie and Owlino - so super cute!!!

I love how they turned out as I chose other yarn colors as shown in the books.!

For a cute accessory, I attached one addiLove stitch marker to Horsty. He’s a cutie, isn’t he?

The book characters are definitely a must-make! You will enjoy being able to create these three little guys, I promise!

You can purchase these books through selected handicrafts shops. For more information contact addi through e-mail: addi@selter.com.

Look inside „Horsty, the little eagle kid“ and "Owlie & Owlino" by clicking the titles.

I hope you enjoyed seeing the making of Horsty, Owlie and Owlino – keep on crochting, meeCrochet

bottom of page