top of page

BOOK REVIEW - Crochet Animals to snuggle

For all amigurumi lovers and German speakers, I have a new book for you!


During my visit at H+H Cologne this year I had the pleasure to meet the lovely Stefanie Benz, the hands behind Glückshäkelei, who told me about her first amigurumi book ‘Häkeltiere zum Kuscheln - beste Freunde zum Liebhaben’ (Crochet Animals to snuggle - best friends to love).

She has been working hard on authoring this book and asked me if I would be interested in writing a book review, and here I am!


This book contains 16 unique amigurumi designs with bright and colorful images and would be suitable even for someone with basic crochet skills.

Crochet animals to snuggle - best friends to love was released on August, 2021 by Christophorus Verlag.


In the beginning of the book (pages 8-11), you have all about the materials you'll need inclusive stich abbreviations.


I love how some of the characters have cute accessories for shoes, hats, etc. that you can find from pages 76 to 80.


The patterns are super easy-to-understand and Stefanie has some tips for making your amigurumi successful.

There are also basic crochet instructions and techniques on page 82.


Look at Nala the Unicorn and Benny the Puppy - I have fallen in love with they two!


Yes, I had a hard time choosing which amigurumi to crochet. But Mia the cat popped out at me, and so I decided to make her using Elisa Sprint and Woolly Hugs Charity yarn from my stash.


I really enjoyed working through Stefanie’s pattern because it is super clearly written.


And here is my finished Mia! Isn’t she the cutest?


Mia is too adorable and my cat Miro is loving her!


Overall, I would definitely recommend this charming book, just because it is a great starter for anyone looking to learn to crochet amigurumis.


If you’re interested to have your own copy, you can check it out HERE - available only in German!


Thank you Stefanie for providing me your first ami publication for review!


Thanks for reading, meeCrochet


bottom of page